If you believe your Apple ID has been compromised or would like to stop using your account, you should deactivate or delete your Apple ID. This tutorial covers everything you need to know about deleting or deactivating your Apple ID account.
What happens when you delete your Apple ID
When you delete your Apple ID, Apple stops all subscriptions. You cannot access or update services connected to your subscription.
Deleting your Apple ID will dissolve your Family Sharing group (if you’re the admin). Family members will no longer have access to subscriptions and purchases shared with you.
When you delete your account, Apple permanently deletes any data stored in iCloud. If you delete your account, you won’t be able to use iMessage or iCloud Mail. Similarly, you can’t make or receive FaceTime calls.
Deleting your Apple ID also permanently erases all data associated with your account. So, if you delete your account, you will lose access to Apple services and App Store media purchases.
Deleting your Apple ID removes unused credits from your App Store or iTunes Store balance. Please use up your account credit balance or request a refund before deleting your account.
Please note that you cannot reuse the email address of a deleted account to create a new Apple ID. Also, you can’t use that email as a backup or rescue email for your existing Apple ID account.
How to remove Apple ID
Apple recommends making a backup or copy of your data stored in iCloud before deleting your Apple ID. You’ll also need to sign out of all Apple devices (iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Apple TV, etc.). This will turn off Find My Activation Lock and allow you to use your device after removing your account.
- Go to privacy.apple.com in any web browser on your phone or computer. Sign in to the Apple ID account you want to remove, and enter your two-factor authentication code if required.
- The next page has options for managing your account information.
Before you delete your Apple ID, you can request a copy of your data from Apple apps and services.select Request a copy of your data Download data. Please note that the download process is not immediate. It may take up to 7 days for Apple to send you the download link.
You can also transfer your iCloud photos and videos to Google Photos.select Request transfer of a copy of your data and choose Google Photos As a destination service on the next page.Please Confirm Photo When movie box and selection continue Move iCloud photos and videos to Google Photos.
- To remove your Apple ID, scroll down on the Data & Privacy page and tap Request account deletion.
- Scroll down the page and select your reason for deleting your account, continue.
- Apple provides a list of things to consider before deleting your Apple ID.Read the information and choose continue continue.
- put a check in I have read and agree to these terms Check the box to select continue.
- Choose where Apple sends status updates about your account, and continue.
- On the next page you will find your unique alphanumeric access code. You will need this access code to cancel your account deletion request. Print the code or record it in a safe place.
- Enter your access code and select continue.
- select delete account In the confirmation popup, delete your Apple ID account.
Can deleted accounts be recovered?
Deleting an Apple ID is permanent and cannot be undone. However, you can restore your account by contacting Apple Support before your deletion request is approved. To cancel your account deletion request, you must provide a unique access code.
It takes about 7 days for Apple to process your request, so you have a short window to recover your Apple ID account.
We recommend that you think twice before deleting your account. If you would like to temporarily stop using your account, please deactivate your account instead. This suspends access to your Apple ID without deleting your data.
Learn how to deactivate your Apple ID by following the steps in the next section.
How to deactivate your Apple ID
When you deactivate your Apple ID, Apple freezes your subscription and iCloud account data. Also, you won’t be able to sign in or use any Apple services like iMessage, Apple Pay, Apple Books, Apple Music, etc. Similarly, you won’t be able to access your App Store purchases or data stored in iCloud.
You can deactivate and reactivate your Apple ID at any time. Sign out of your device and follow the steps below to deactivate your account.
- Go to Apple’s Data & Privacy page and sign in with your Apple ID.
- select Request a copy of your data If you want to download information before disabling your Apple ID.Scroll down the page and select Request account deactivation.
- On the next page you can see a list of what happens when you deactivate your Apple ID. Scroll down the page and select your reason for disabling your account, continue.
- select continue Proceed through the confirmation page.
- put a check in I have read and agree to these terms select in box continue.
- Select the phone number or email address you want Apple to send you updates about account deactivation.select continue continue.
- Make a note of your unique access code on the following page. Print your access code or write it down in a safe place. If you lose this access code, you will not be able to reactivate your Apple ID.
- Enter your access code in the dialog box and continue.
- select deactivate the account Submit an account deactivation request. It may take up to 7 days for Apple to deactivate your account.
To reactivate your Apple ID, contact Apple Support and provide your access code.
Deactivate or delete your Apple ID? The choice is yours.
Now you understand what disabling and deleting your Apple ID entails. Disabling your Apple ID suspends account activity, but deleting your account permanently erases your personal data. We recommend downloading a copy of your data before deactivating or deleting your Apple ID. Also, do not lose your access code.
If you can’t remove your Apple ID, you may have an outstanding balance with Apple. Check your Apple account balance, clear any outstanding payments, and try deleting your account again. If the problem persists, contact Apple Support or visit your local Apple Store.